Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Portal Portal   Search the forums Search   Frequently Asked Questions FAQ   View member list Member List   Staff Staff List   View Topic Activity Topic Activity   Forum Stats Stats   Board Rules Board Rules   Downloads Downloads
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favorites  
Author: Subject: Creating a JO Hud Icon for your vehicle
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

smile.gif posted on 6-7-07 at 21:56
Creating a JO Hud Icon for your vehicle


I recently created/converted some models from BHD to DFX/JO.

As you may know, JO uses a Hud Icon, which shows the vehicle driver/passenger configuration.

I figured out where this icon is defined, what to call the tga, and how to make the tga..

This Thread reflects directly on this one..Getting your your seating right..

Just as a refresher, this is one I did for my MH53 Pavelow..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/helo04.jpg

This is one I did for my Technical, and, the one I did while writing this tutorial...

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/ingame.jpg

Where do I Start...

OK, get your model into JO first, that's where you start..

What you need next is a top view picture of your model..

I opened my max model of my tech, clicked on the top view..right click on the word "top" and a context menu will pop up, choose smooth & highlights, and turn off the grid.

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech1.jpg

I ended up with this as my view..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech2.jpg

Do a screen shot, using "print screen".. open Photoshop/new, use a transparent background, the size will be selected as the size you have in your cache from your screen print. When you press OK, a new checkered screen will appear, paste your screen capture into it.

Bring it up to 100%, and crop it down to your vehicle..(make sure it's at 100% size), and resize the image so the vehicle will fit into a 128 x 256 image...rotate 180 so the vehicle points up..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech3.jpg

Next, create a new image, 128 x 256 with a transparent background, using the paint bucket, fill in the colour with black.

Next, using the lasso, or wand, select the outline of your vehicle from your screenshot, copy it, and paste it onto your new black 128 x 256 image..it will become a new layer.

What you need now, is a tga from JO to use as a template. I used the H_STRYKR1.TGA, open it in photoshop.

Go to channels, turn on the alpha1, and turn off all the RGB channels as in below..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech9.jpg

Select your working image, Select the layer with the vehicle, and use the edit/free transform to resize it to match the size of the H_STRYKR1

When finished, I have this..

1. Your new 128 x 256 image that has your vehicle on a black background...with tyour vehicle resized in one corner.

2. A JO H_ tga for a template..alpha channel turned on.

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech9a.jpg

Next..

We copy the little squares used for the locations from the JO tga, to your new one..

Zoom right in on the H_STRYKR1.tga..grab the rectangular marquee tool, and select one of the squares..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech10.jpg

Copy the selection..now, select your new image, and paste the selection...I'll past it 3 times, for the 3 seats in this vehicle.

3 new layers will be created with each paste..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech11.jpg

Next, select layer 1, and move the box to the drivers position, the, layer 2, to passenger, and 3 to gunner, or whatever your model has..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech8.jpg

Now would be a good time to save your image as a psd for future use, or storage if you need it again..before the step below, so we have layers in tact..

Now, from the layers menu, "Verge Visable".

Your image is now ready to transpose as the alpha channel on that H_STRYKR1.tga.

Select the H_STRYKR1.tga, go to channels, select the alpha channel, right click, and delete channel..

Now, at the bottom of the channel window, select "create new channel"

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech12.jpg

Go back to your working image, "select all", and copy...

Return to the H_STRYKR1.tga, select the new aplha channel, then select the actual image, and paste.

This will paste your new image into the alpha of the H_STRYKR1.tga.

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech13.jpg

Turn back on all the channels to see your final image, save it as whatever name you want, make sure you save as 32 bit to preserve the alpha channel.

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech14.jpg

Now, we need the next bit...

The next bit..

You need to locate your HUDPOS.DEF, it's encrypted, as an scr file, so, you'll need to decrypt it.

Right at the bottom, add a file, I've added this one..

VEHICLE_HUD
sid EE01
interface h_tek1.tga
driver 27,161
emplace 1 33,198
seats 1,44,161
VEHICLE_END

sid will be the name you put in the items def for your vehicle...in this case it's "sid EE01"

interface is the name of your tga you just created, in this case "interface h_tek1.tga"

driver, emplace and seats are coordinates related to the tga file you just created, and where the game will put numbers when it's displayed when you are in the vehicle.

I don't know how to find coordinates in Photoshop, so I used an old version of Paint Shop Pro 7

Load your tga into PSP7, you will see a 128 x 256 white image..you can't see the alpha channel yet..

From the pull down menus, select masks/load from alpha channel..then OK..

Now, from the mask menu, select "view mask"

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech15.jpg

Now, zoom in on your seat locations...

Choose a spot about half a square from the top, and side, with your arrow cursor, now, look at the status bar at the bottom, and you will coordinates..write these down, record coordinates for each square..

http://www.dfreload.com/pics/hudicon/tech16.jpg

Now, close off PSP without saving..

Go to your HUDPOS.def, and type in the numbers you recorded..

VEHICLE_HUD
sid EE01
interface h_tek1.tga
driver 23,162
emplace 1 32,196
seats 1,40,162
VEHICLE_END

Save the file, no need to re-encrypt it.

Now, open you items.def, and locate your def file for your vehicle..add the sid name, in this case, EE01 as defined in the HUDPOS.def

begin "Drivable Technical with 50cal"
id 102588
type vehicle
sid EE01
graphic etek2

save out your files, put your items.def, HUDPOS.def and tga file into your game..

EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Iceman
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 1271
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Very happy

[*] posted on 7-7-07 at 09:20


Nice tutorial bud

Ice






http://www.dfreload.com/eagle/sigs/16.gif

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif

http://www.dfreload.com/sig/teamreload3.gif

View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Slayerdfx
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 84
Registered: 22-1-08
Location: Spain
Member Is Offline

Mood: Just Chilling

[*] posted on 22-1-08 at 07:35


Nice tut, will this work the same with DF: X?

I have some new vehicles....they have the seats already...i just need to make some hud's but i dont have the max images...is there any way i can make some huh icons?

also i have some new weapons to do...can you help me on that? :]

Thanks
Slayer!




ImageGaming.Com > Looking For Staff
Free advertising for Clans > ImageGaming.Com
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 22-1-08 at 13:28


Yes, works with DFX, which doesn't have a Vehicle hud icon by default...I made these originally for my DFX mod.

If you don't have the max shot, try and take an ingame screen shot from above, and use that, you'll need a custom map, maybe a cement block you can lie down on, pace it and the spawn point above the vehicle, may take a bit of adjust ing height etc..but I have done it this way.

Weapons, I've never done any for those, but if you can find a decent side view, maybe we can come up with something.

EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Slayerdfx
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 84
Registered: 22-1-08
Location: Spain
Member Is Offline

Mood: Just Chilling

[*] posted on 22-1-08 at 19:51


Thanks Eagle Eye, I was starting to think i might have to do them by hand before i read this post!
I think i might be able to do afew of the guns i have becuase some of them are from Black Hawk Down!

Thanks

Slayer




ImageGaming.Com > Looking For Staff
Free advertising for Clans > ImageGaming.Com
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
LS77
Recruit


Avatar



Posts: 1
Registered: 28-2-09
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 28-2-09 at 10:10


Very Nice, Thanks
:R
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member

  Go To Top





Powered by XMB
Developed By The XMB Group © 2001-2008