Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Portal Portal   Search the forums Search   Frequently Asked Questions FAQ   View member list Member List   Staff Staff List   View Topic Activity Topic Activity   Forum Stats Stats   Board Rules Board Rules   Downloads Downloads
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favorites  
Author: Subject: Redirecting trucks etc
Ozferal
WTF ADmin
*******

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 338
Registered: 9-4-06
Location: Yorke Peninsula, Sth Aust
Member Is Offline

Mood: STILL hunting Kev!

[*] posted on 18-2-07 at 12:20
Redirecting trucks etc


Jeeze I'm ripping my hair out here ........

I'm trying to get a truck to stop at a WP, then move on. Tried setting a delay ... tried redirecting the blasted thing to another WP list, resetting it's visited waypoints and so on and so on.

What I've found is that once it is on a WP with a set speed, it's in the hands of the gods.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 18-2-07 at 20:22


Easy way...

Use more than one waypoint list..

Create 2 lists, non looping..

Set event to send to first list, it will drive to the end of that list, then stop.

Create timed event to send to second list once it has reached an area trigger that you placed over the last waypoint of the first list..

EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 18-2-07 at 20:44


Did a quick demo, standard DFX, SP.

http://www.deltaforcegaming.com/attachment/delay_veh.zip




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Ozferal
WTF ADmin
*******

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 338
Registered: 9-4-06
Location: Yorke Peninsula, Sth Aust
Member Is Offline

Mood: STILL hunting Kev!

[*] posted on 18-2-07 at 21:38


Many thanks for that .... you are a legend lol

BTW, any idea what the "reset waypoint to Z" is?
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 18-2-07 at 21:55


Have no idea, where is it in the events?



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Ozferal
WTF ADmin
*******

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 338
Registered: 9-4-06
Location: Yorke Peninsula, Sth Aust
Member Is Offline

Mood: STILL hunting Kev!

[*] posted on 19-2-07 at 13:10


In "Action Sub Type" ... Use waypoint Z or Stop using waypoint Z
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 19-2-07 at 13:20


Well, use waypoint Z is for helo's, so they go to the height of the waypoint.

But, depending on what AI text file you have set for the helo, some will automaticlly go to the height of the waypoint.

EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
RANKER
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 4
Registered: 31-5-08
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Member Is Offline

Mood: grey hair = I know stuff but not all

[*] posted on 16-10-10 at 04:21


Quote:
Originally posted by Eagle_Eye
Easy way...

Use more than one waypoint list..

Create 2 lists, non looping..

Set event to send to first list, it will drive to the end of that list, then stop.

Create timed event to send to second list once it has reached an area trigger that you placed over the last waypoint of the first list..

EE


This is good for 1 truck, but as I am working on a convoy map,
when I use this, at the end of the first list,all enter in the behind
of the truck in front...

The distance between them at the beginning doesn't exist no
more they bump the truck in front.

Question:

Is there a way to fix this ??
How can I fix this problem??

all the best

Ranker...out!!!
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
LoneWolf
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 85
Registered: 18-2-07
Location: USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Get-R-Done

[*] posted on 16-10-10 at 08:34


Set group so if ssn the first truck reached wp then change ai group patrol sp to 0, change ai comat speed to 0 make sure they are spaced out a lil, that way they don't bump into each other. Hope this helps ya out.:A



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Iceman
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 1271
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Very happy

[*] posted on 16-10-10 at 09:20


Quote:
Originally posted by LoneWolf_SoC
Set group so if ssn the first truck reached wp then change ai group patrol sp to 0, change ai comat speed to 0 make sure they are spaced out a lil, that way they don't bump into each other. Hope this helps ya out.:A


Or you could set an event for each vehicle and set a delay time.

Iceman






http://www.dfreload.com/eagle/sigs/16.gif

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif

http://www.dfreload.com/sig/teamreload3.gif

View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 16-10-10 at 10:34


Doing this for a convoy can be a little bit of a pain to setup, but worth it.

There is another thing to take into consideration, and that's vehicle speed. Vehicles will bump into each other along the route because not all vehicles have the same scaled speed.. 15kph on one type of vehicle might be 17kph on another.

But, that's not your problem, yours bunch up at the end cos they are all trying to get to the same waypoint.

Trick is to send them to different waypoints when they get where they are going. You can park them in different spots.

Example.

4 trucks all following same list to the end, call it list 5 (I always save list 1 for the player waypoints)
at the end of list 1, create 4 more lists eg6,7,8,& 9, all with just 1 waypoint, put them where you want the vehicle to park.

Create 4 events. One for each truck, when ssnxxx (each of the 4 trucks) reach the end of waypoint list 1, redirect to waypoint list 6. (then for 7, 8 & 9)

Or create an area trigger over the last waypoint in list 1 then create 4 events. One for each truck, when ssnxxx (each of the 4 trucks) reach area trigger, redirect to waypoint list 6. (then for 7, 8 & 9)

Make the parking waypoints a lot smaller then the default, you'll get better accuracy when you park them.

Remember, when a vehicle hits a waypoint, it only has to touch the outer ring to score a hit on the waypoint.

Cheers
EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
RANKER
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 4
Registered: 31-5-08
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Member Is Offline

Mood: grey hair = I know stuff but not all

[*] posted on 17-10-10 at 04:11


WOW!! good people, I thought this forum was dead,
I took a chance just in case and I am so happy to see
it's still alive.

I will give you a bit more of informations on the tough
map I am working on (so many things to think about)

All oil tankers as a combat & patrol speed of 35 km/h.

The convoy as only two way points 5,0 & 5,1 it's a straight
line, from the oil depot through 6 well defended villages
to the end (inside a fortification at Golf).

The convoy will be attack, between each village, by buggies
which will leave the convoy alone when it will approach a
village.

I would like the convoy to stop at a certain spot in front
of each village to give a chance to the players to clear out
the villages before the convoy can continue his way.

LoneWolf_SoC

I did what you suggested but the time it take for each truck
to stop, they still bump into each other.

So I was looking for a way to stop the convoy on the same
path while keeping their distance, but you people are telling
me that it's not possible so ok, I respect your expertise, still,
I have to find a solution.

E E

If I follow your instructions, would it be possible to redirect
the convoy on his main path (wp5) after each village has been
cleared out by players ???

If so, would you be so kind to tell me how to do this?

I am very appreciative for your help good people
I thank you all very much.




All the very best
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n31/RM1948/sig.png

Ranker...out!!
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
LoneWolf
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 85
Registered: 18-2-07
Location: USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Get-R-Done

[*] posted on 17-10-10 at 04:19


I told you wrong Ranker set it so if like group 3 reached waypoint 1,3 then change the speed to zero sorry about that bud.



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 17-10-10 at 11:29


If your only using one set of waypoints, with no waypoints at the stop points, then, you should consider using an area trigger to stop each truck in a different spot.

So, for example, if you had 4 trucks, you would need 4 area triggers at each stop points, one behind the other.

You would need an event for each truck to stop. ie. if ssnxxx (first truck) in area triggerxx, then change speed to 0

Let the player do his thing, when those are done, screen text a message to tell him to get back on the convoy.

Is this a Coop or a single player?




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
RANKER
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 4
Registered: 31-5-08
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Member Is Offline

Mood: grey hair = I know stuff but not all

[*] posted on 17-10-10 at 16:21


A coop mission for 5 + players.

EE your first suggestion would look like this...0 = wp
.................0...................0
.................0...................0
depot 0----0 0--village----0 0---village
.................0...................0

Each truck has is own wp to stop, after the village is clear,
the 4 tankers will be redirect (after a certain time) to the
same wp path trough the village and so on and so on.

Am I wright ???




All the very best
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n31/RM1948/sig.png

Ranker...out!!
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
RANKER
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 4
Registered: 31-5-08
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Member Is Offline

Mood: grey hair = I know stuff but not all

[*] posted on 18-10-10 at 03:33


Quote:
Originally posted by Eagle_Eye
If your only using one set of waypoints, with no waypoints at the stop points, then, you should consider using an area trigger to stop each truck in a different spot.

So, for example, if you had 4 trucks, you would need 4 area triggers at each stop points, one behind the other.

You would need an event for each truck to stop. ie. if ssnxxx (first truck) in area triggerxx, then change speed to 0

Let the player do his thing, when those are done, screen text a message to tell him to get back on the convoy.

Is this a Coop or a single player?


hmmm...interesting..
Question:

How then can I make the convoy continue on his way after
the village has been cleared, if I use those area triggers to
stop the convoy instead of way points (if I use one set of 2
way points only) ?

n.b. the next way point of the set is very far away, do you
think that the convoy will see it and get on his way ???

In another word, what is the maximum distance that a vehicle
can "see" a way point ???

N.B. in DFXMED the grid start at 512 meters.




All the very best
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n31/RM1948/sig.png

Ranker...out!!
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
PREDATOR-53rd
Corporal


Avatar



Posts: 310
Registered: 5-8-06
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 18-10-10 at 14:23


i sent you email (Eagle-Eye) a demo map how to make this convoy work pretty easy without bumping. maybe you can pass it along.

attached here it's in aw2 format but should work with any as long as terrain is flat and items are correct.

Attachment: truck_convoy.zip (3.79kb)
This file has been downloaded 149 times
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2089
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 18-10-10 at 15:47


There is no max distance an ssn can see a waypoint, so, it can be 100km away.

To restart you would have to redirect the ssn to the same waypoint list, and set the 2 speeds up again.

Thanks Dave...bit short of time right now, I got your email mate..many thanks..will look into it further when I can.

Cheers all.
EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
PREDATOR-53rd
Corporal


Avatar



Posts: 310
Registered: 5-8-06
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 19-10-10 at 01:34


I have also made up a little demo of the trucks being redirected to a new waypoint here.

Attachment: truck_convoy_redirected.zip (5.03kb)
This file has been downloaded 144 times
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member

  Go To Top





Powered by XMB
Developed By The XMB Group © 2001-2008