Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Portal Portal   Search the forums Search   Frequently Asked Questions FAQ   View member list Member List   Staff Staff List   View Topic Activity Topic Activity   Forum Stats Stats   Board Rules Board Rules   Downloads Downloads
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favorites  
Author: Subject: AI popping up out of tunnel
AKMARK5000
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 218
Registered: 22-5-09
Location: United States
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-7-11 at 23:18
AI popping up out of tunnel


I got a problem with one of my maps. I have placed 15 AI in a tunnel and they re-spawn twice. They keep popping up out of the tunnel and appear above ground sometimes.

Is there a way to prevent or fix this from occurring?

Thanks,
Mark




http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z13/shifty421/Sigs/Mark-5-Sig-22.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2094
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 7-7-11 at 08:06


The problem is with the actual tunnel. When Novalogic created them, they used CP collision boxes instead of CB collision boxes.

What does this mean?

A CP only blocks a Human Player from walking through a wall. a CB blocks Human, or AI from walking through a wall.

##EDIT##

AI can also see through a CP, but not a CB, this is also why you get shot at a lot when your in a tunnel, cos AI basically see through the walls, but, the bullets can get though...

This is why, in a tunnel, you get AI that seem to be stuck in the wall. There's not much you can do about it, you can experiment with height of the AI Marker. But I think it's usually luck LOL..

Just as a side note, I do have all the models of the tunnels, that I am slowly reworking to fix the Nova Stuff up, if I ever get to releasing the DFR Mod, then I will replace the default models with the fixed versions.

Cheers
EE




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
AKMARK5000
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 218
Registered: 22-5-09
Location: United States
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-7-11 at 12:25


Thank you EE...

I'm guessing that the use of CP collision boxes also explains to me the reason AI can see and shoot through some building walls and some foliage in nova-ill-logic games like DFX2 or Joint Ops.

and good luck with the DFR Mod, it sound good!




http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z13/shifty421/Sigs/Mark-5-Sig-22.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
jabo1SFH
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 226
Registered: 13-8-08
Location: az
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-7-11 at 21:39


best bet to using nova's default tunnels is to have your ai in the room tunnel pieces and not actually in the tunnels if they respawn.

use something they can attach to if you must have static ai in the tunnels.

another thing, i noticed this problem some years back and the ai popping out to the surface usually occurs most on uneven pieces of terrain.


i always used ai in tunnels as sentries that way you can have them spawn in a room then run through the tunnels to a wp or to chase players.


:P




http://www.soldiersfromhell.net/sfh%20images/gogeta.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
AKMARK5000
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 218
Registered: 22-5-09
Location: United States
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-7-11 at 22:33


Thanks. I'll be sure to do that.



http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z13/shifty421/Sigs/Mark-5-Sig-22.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
AKMARK5000
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 218
Registered: 22-5-09
Location: United States
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-7-11 at 00:56


Most pf what Jabo1SFH worked. I attached some AI to 50cals... those did stay put in tunnel. I had some static soldier in tunnel rooms... those seemed to stay.

I made some soldiers spawn in tunnel rooms that would then run around the tunnel passages, but they kept popping up top... so I deleted those.

I then discovered that a few static soldier in tunnel rooms (the few in the little end tunnel pieces or little out-coves) were popping up top. I attached those to the SSN of the tunnel room or tunnel room piece and they seem to stay in place... hope it is not just luck as EE said, but a lasting solution.




http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z13/shifty421/Sigs/Mark-5-Sig-22.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
jabo1SFH
Corporal


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 226
Registered: 13-8-08
Location: az
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-7-11 at 08:36


cool, at least you can work around the issues related to ai in tunnels.


that issue has been a thorn in mapmakers sides for a long time. one of the reasons you dont see many maps with ai in tunnels.

you can also use chairs that they can attach/release with.


:P




http://www.soldiersfromhell.net/sfh%20images/gogeta.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member

  Go To Top





Powered by XMB
Developed By The XMB Group © 2001-2008