Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Portal Portal   Search the forums Search   Frequently Asked Questions FAQ   View member list Member List   Staff Staff List   View Topic Activity Topic Activity   Forum Stats Stats   Board Rules Board Rules   Downloads Downloads
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favorites  
Author: Subject: Changing the way custom maps show
CajNatalie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-8-08 at 22:42
Changing the way custom maps show


Hi, I was wondering if there was a way to mod the quick mission selection screen so that any custom missions can have proper names, so instead of 'file.bms' a mission will be...
'Name
Country, Time, Weather'
You know what I mean?

I'd also like to be able to put in an image for each mission, and fill out the real briefing text (more than 256 characters).
I've tried playing around with DF2BRIEF.bin, but anything I add won't actually show - not even with the already existing custom missions.

Has anyone else had success with this, or if not... would anyone else be willing to look into this for me?
Much thanks! :3
Tac
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 61
Registered: 25-6-07
Location: USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Sleep Walking

[*] posted on 7-8-08 at 08:35


I had a go at it m8 with no luck. I tried a .pcx file but it didnít work.
Did you convert the .bin file to text change it and convert back to .bin
If you didnít convert to text before you altered it that would probably cause it lose existing custom missions and even if you did who knows with that old game.
My advice would be to upgrade to DFX or JOE where you can get better control over that and many other map features.
Sorry I didnít help maybe some of the others will have better luck. :(
Tac
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
CajNatalie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-8-08 at 08:38


Quote:
Originally posted by Tac
I had a go at it m8 with no luck. I tried a .pcx file but it didnít work.
Did you convert the .bin file to text change it and convert back to .bin
If you didnít convert to text before you altered it that would probably cause it lose existing custom missions and even if you did who knows with that old game.
My advice would be to upgrade to DFX or JOE where you can get better control over that and many other map features.
Sorry I didnít help maybe some of the others will have better luck. :(
Tac
Yeah I've been using bin2txt and txt2bin and a pff extractor (I saved the original DF2Brief.bin before I started BTW don't worry XD), but it just did nothing.

Anyways, my PC is only just capable of supporting DFBHD on a good level... DFX will be a little out of reach for its capabilities. XD
I just wanted to see what I could do with what I had, starting at the bottom and moving up.
Q-dad~TAG
Private


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 75
Registered: 19-3-08
Location: Jessheim, Norway
Member Is Offline

Mood: Busy

[*] posted on 8-8-08 at 10:30


You might find what you're looking for in the (DF2) "SINGLE/COOP PLAYER MISSION BRIEFS AND PICS" tutorial, made by the late Dr.Evil~TAG...: http://mapmakersheaven.org/old/index.php?page=tut6



TXP (Terrain Xpansion Pack) for DF2: txp.df2.org

http://txp.df2.org/q/media/graphics/sigs/rocketeer.jpg
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
CajNatalie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 8-8-08 at 19:22


That looks almost exactly what I want... but the bin editor looks different from what I have...
I've done the same kind of things mentioned there using my current bin editor, so I'm guessing that I'll need to try that one out, because that editor looks like it goes into a bit more detail.

However, the link to the bin editor there is dead. D=

Thank you, anyways. XD
Eagle_Eye
Owner/Admin
*********

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 2094
Registered: 2-4-06
Location: Adelaide. South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey, not stupid!

[*] posted on 8-8-08 at 23:47


That's the full bin editor from Novasheep, you can still use the bin tools (txt to bin, and bin to text) and edit an existing one....same end result



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
CajNatalie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 9-8-08 at 00:16


I'm wondering why the missions vanish from existence though, when I use txt2bin/bin2txt.
I mean... I try renaming the mission I used in a code format like they used (like D06M01), so I had a short string to work with.
I put my little .bms in the df2.pff, and added all the necessary information into DF2Brief... which I then also put into the df2.pff.. and the .bms just doesn't show in the first place. o.o

Edit: Yup, tried it all again using Novasheep's editor, and I get the same problem.
I pack everything into the pff... DF2Brief, bms, tga... nothing.
I even tried naming my mission D06M21.bms, hoping that it would recognize it as one of the quick missions (all D06) and nothing even appears in the quick mission picker.
=_=
CajNatalie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 15-8-08 at 03:35


*doubleposting* 8D

Nevermind, it works now... all I have to do is use D06_xx, with any numbers I want in place of the x's (I hope any numbers work), for the missions to actually show on the list. =D

  Go To Top





Powered by XMB
Developed By The XMB Group © 2001-2008