Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Portal Portal   Search the forums Search   Frequently Asked Questions FAQ   View member list Member List   Staff Staff List   View Topic Activity Topic Activity   Forum Stats Stats   Board Rules Board Rules   Downloads Downloads
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favorites  
Author: Subject: How do you do it?
Chrispy
Staff Sergeant


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 997
Registered: 28-10-06
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Member Is Offline

Mood: :)

[*] posted on 6-1-08 at 18:40
How do you do it?


BuLL, when you're terrain making, how do you manage to do your .raw files? Could I have a screenie? (Not the actual .raw, just an attached picture.)

It's just that when I look at Nova's .raw files they look real good, and when I do .raw files, I use the default Photosohp circular brushes and it looks nothing like how I want it to be...

Maybe a tut?

Like to know how you do it lol. Would love to make awesomer terrains by pushing myself furtherer.

Chris :)





CHRISPY/MTN GOAT
Super Moderator - DF Reload

deltaforcegaming.com/chrispy for all your BHD/DFX tuts, and maps...

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
BuLL
Terrain Maker


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 633
Registered: 31-10-06
Location: GB.North Lincolnshire.
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mod`tastic

[*] posted on 6-1-08 at 20:57


Get hold of L3DT.....Generate a height map with the programme,then edit the generated heightfield in photoshop....L3DT now comes with a "bulldozer"
feature which basically ploughs a wide furrow in the terrain from points you specify...Great for roads and rivers.;)
Don`t export your heightmap in raw format though.It`s easier to export as jpeg then resave as a raw in photoshop,as L3DT exports a 16 bit raw,which means buggering about with the alpha channels.
Other than that,search for lightning brushes that people use in sig making.Very useful for building up nice mountainous regions and such.
http://www.bundysoft.com/

Here`s a quick sample(seamless) i made in literally 2 mins.Although I know the programme quite well.It`s a doddle to use.

http://www.deltaforcegaming.com/map_pics/pic/1199665839.jpg




http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/BULL.gif
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/DOC_BAR.png
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Chrispy
Staff Sergeant


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 997
Registered: 28-10-06
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Member Is Offline

Mood: :)

[*] posted on 6-1-08 at 21:41


Ahh, so you use a program for this as well? Awesome. I've always wondered how you've made those stunning terrains, lol.

Chris :)





CHRISPY/MTN GOAT
Super Moderator - DF Reload

deltaforcegaming.com/chrispy for all your BHD/DFX tuts, and maps...

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
BuLL
Terrain Maker


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 633
Registered: 31-10-06
Location: GB.North Lincolnshire.
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mod`tastic

[*] posted on 7-1-08 at 07:19


Believe me,I`ve tried every method of heightmap generating/making software that`s available (any terrain maker worth their salt should do the same) "try everything u can lay your hands on"...L3DT is the easiest and one of the best to use.



http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/BULL.gif
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/DOC_BAR.png
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Skull
Super Moderator
*******

Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 132
Registered: 4-12-07
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 8-1-08 at 01:49


Hey Bull,
How would you compare L3DT to say terragen or world builder?

Does it to a better job or are they about the same?
Does L3DT do things that the other two dont?

Let me know bud.




http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r78/sklfkr/newskullsig.gif
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
BuLL
Terrain Maker


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 633
Registered: 31-10-06
Location: GB.North Lincolnshire.
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mod`tastic

[*] posted on 8-1-08 at 03:59


I tried terragen but couldn`t get on with it & I haven`t really looked at world builder that closely to be honest....I think r8bob was keen on bryce but for
nova terrains L3DT takes some beating & it`s continuously being improved.
I personally only use it for initial heightmap and rock placement on colourmaps.It also produces a decent light map for use as an alpha chaneel for bhd terrains.
Is it better than the others?.I suppose it depends on which game or type of terrain you want to produce...I think all generators are similar in one way or another....I think the ones that are popular at present can import satelite imagery,which is great if u want "real-life" terrains....
It also depends on the bit depth you require.Nova is limited to an 8bit raw heightmap...I could do much more with a 16 bit raw format & more choice with
the actual terrain floor texture....Also having a tile size limitation is bloody frustrating.....
To be honest m8.You probably already have on of the best terrain making pieces of software already....Max;)
I know Luke makes all his with max




http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/BULL.gif
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/DOC_BAR.png
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Chrispy
Staff Sergeant


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 997
Registered: 28-10-06
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Member Is Offline

Mood: :)

[*] posted on 11-1-08 at 06:24


That's right Skull, you've got Max!

BTW BuLL I'm loving L3DT. The terrains are so ****ing stunning it's not even funny... lol. At first I had some tiling probs (you know with it being not seamless and stuff), so then later on in the day I started from scratch in L3DT and then turned on edge wrapping, and now the terrain's looking mad... :)

But yeah, dayum they look awesome!

BTW, can L3DT produce character and foliage maps which will work in DFX? I always use the stock foliage/character maps but I was wondering if L3DT is capable of doing that...

Chris :D





CHRISPY/MTN GOAT
Super Moderator - DF Reload

deltaforcegaming.com/chrispy for all your BHD/DFX tuts, and maps...

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
BuLL
Terrain Maker


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 633
Registered: 31-10-06
Location: GB.North Lincolnshire.
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mod`tastic

[*] posted on 11-1-08 at 07:17


No it won`t produce the m or f_pcx`s m8,sry......That`s photoshop work.



http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/BULL.gif
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/DOC_BAR.png
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Chrispy
Staff Sergeant


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 997
Registered: 28-10-06
Location: Peria, New Zealand
Member Is Offline

Mood: :)

[*] posted on 11-1-08 at 08:02


Quote:
Originally posted by BuLL
No it won`t produce the m or f_pcx`s m8,sry......That`s photoshop work.


Oh okay. I'm actually glad it doesn't, so then that's less terrain work to do lol (as when I do character and foliage maps I just use a stock one lol).

Chris :)





CHRISPY/MTN GOAT
Super Moderator - DF Reload

deltaforcegaming.com/chrispy for all your BHD/DFX tuts, and maps...

http://www.dfreload.com/sigs/doc_bar.gif
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member This user has MSN Messenger
BuLL
Terrain Maker


Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 633
Registered: 31-10-06
Location: GB.North Lincolnshire.
Member Is Offline

Mood: Mod`tastic

[*] posted on 11-1-08 at 08:25


Quote:
Quote:
Oh okay. I'm actually glad it doesn't, so then that's less terrain work to do lol (as when I do character and foliage maps I just use a stock one lol).

Chris :)


Stock character maps are naff.Make custom ones for your terrains.Easiest way is to use your d1.tga psd as a base,then just recolourfill the various layers with the required colour ,then just use an indexed colour table and resave your images as indexed at 256 x 256 for f_pcx..512 x 512 for m_pcx.....I`ve got a chart image somewhere I made and photoshop act files for these.I`ll post them when i find them.




http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/BULL.gif
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i291/BuLLcop/DOC_BAR.png
View user's profile View All Posts By User U2U Member

  Go To Top





Powered by XMB
Developed By The XMB Group © 2001-2008